The McCulloch Foundation is a non-profit organization that hosts the Historic McCulloch Gem Panning Tours.
In 1832, Cornish engineer Charles T. McCulloch and Elizer Kersey built "McCulloch Gold Mill." Using locally quarried granite rock, they created an enduring "Cornish Rock Engine House" in the center of the North Carolina Piedmont. The gold mill operated continuously for over 30 years.
More than 150 years later, Richard Harris restored the building in the mid 1980's. It is registered as a State, Local and National Historic Site. We are now proud to offer historic tours of this unique North Carolina Treasure!
Tours of McCulloch Gold Mill include gold and gem panning, mineral museum, gift shop and free picnic area. Tours will include the grounds of Castle McCulloch with the interior of the buildings being shown when they are not otherwise rented. All of these are great for field trips or other kids activities!
The McCulloch Foundation 6328 Old Kivett Loop Jamestown, North Carolina 27282 (336) 887-2206 ~ Fax (336) 887-3936 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org